News

Bethesda Are Finally Moving On From Skyrim

Beth Team Photo

Bethesda have revealed via a post on their blog that after a year and a half of working on the Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim they’re finally moving the bulk of their team on to the studios next project, meaning there will be no more major new content added to the game, though they have promised to release minor updates as needed.

“Skyrim has been a labor of love for us since we started designing it in 2006. We never imagined it would become the phenomenon it has. And that is because of you, the fans. It was all of you who made it a success. We can’t thank you enough for embracing the game, spreading the word, and making it your own.”

According to the blog post parts of the Bethesda team have been involved in pre-production of their next project, and that it has finally reached the point where it requires the full attention of the entire studio.

“We loved hearing your stories, your in-game triumphs, and your suggestions. One thing stuck out to us through those emails, letters, and postings. And that is – video games matter. They’re as important to you as they are to us. It’s not just about entertainment, it’s about your time. And you chose to spend it with our game.”

All has been largely quiet on the Skyrim front recently, so news that Bethesda are no longer going to be actively working on it is hardly surprising. Still, it’s a shame we’ll get no new content,  since I honestly wasn’t all that impressed with what we did get, especially in comparison to what we got for Oblivion.

Regardless, I look forward to seeing what Bethesda do in 2013.

Advertisements

Categories: News

Tagged as: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s